Serb and Croat genes

Hello guys. I was intrigued by this topic and I decided to join. Now, I'm no genetics expert by any means but I notice that there are some of you here that really understand this stuff so there are just a couple of points I'd like to bring to your attention that might perhaps help us all understand the situation here better.

In 15th and 16th century when Croatia was pretty much cleansed by the Turks, the empty areas, such as Lika, Kordun, Slavonia were populated by Catholic and Orthodox groups. Now, from my understanding those groups were neither Croats or Serbs but the Vlach population. Later on, Bunjevci and Sokci became Croats and Orthodox Vlachs became Serbs.
This is interesting because it would explain the difference of Serbs in Croatia and Bosnia in comparison to Serbs in Serbia. They're not the same people. But then again, are Bunjevci and Sokci really Croats? Where are they from? Is it possible that they are Delmats? The Illiyrian population of ancient Dalmatia?

What do you folks think about this?