Politics European Identity.

Researcher

Reaction score
I would like to introduce myself. I am a student of European Studies at University Maastricht (Netherlands). At the moment I and 2 fellow students of our group are assigned to conduct a research on the "European Identity". We all live in a world of uncertainty, of social awareness, economic crisis and political efforts to improve the situation as a whole. Especially in these times of crisis, it is quite important to have the feeling of belonging in a group that shares common values, in other words, being united. Two main questions arise:

Whether you believe that European Identity exists?
Do you consider yourself European?

Welcome to Eupedia. This is an interesting thread.
I believe European Identity exists, and consider myself European.
Though I emigrated from Poland and live in Canada now, I've picked this new country of residence, because it feels like Europe here, with language, political/social and economic systems, standard of living, traditions, etc.

Welcome to Eupedia. This is an interesting thread.
I believe European Identity exists, and consider myself European.
Though I emigrated from Poland and live in Canada now, I've picked this new country of residence, because it feels like Europe here, with language, political/social and economic systems, standard of living, traditions, etc.

It is so nice that people living in Canada are interested in Europe and don't forget the country they belong to. Do you think that European Identity is a transparent phenomenon, meaning that it is not necessary to live in Europe in order to be European and to belong to European Identity? It is not a kind of educated feeling from media or from communication with "Europeans", but it is a personal attitude and thinking?