laetoli

Reaction score
Ethnic group
Africa
Y-DNA haplogroup
R1b-L21-DF21-L625
mtDNA haplogroup
K1a2b
I'm trying to tell the story of my ancestry. I've followed all my genealogical lines back to the 18th century but I've hit a brick wall on all of them (of course.) Now I'm trying to stretch them out into deeper time and I've been reading some journal articles and other literature about the peopling of Europe to go with my DNA test results. I am a complete novice and am struggling to resolve certain issues, so I could use some help, please.

There appears to be a major dichotomy: on the one hand, you have people saying that the British population is made up of three population groups - late glacial hunter-gatherers, neolithic farmers migrating from Anatolia and late neolithic/early bronze age migrants from the Pontic Steppe. On the other hand, some people maintain Britain is largely homogenous though reflecting substantial Saxon invasions, which did not include much ethnic cleansing.

Advocates of the former seem to follow Marija Gimbutas' Kurgan hypothesis as described by David Anthony in The Horse, The Wheel and Language and genetically by Jean Marco's Ancestral Journeys. Important papers supporting this account come from Allentoft et al - Population genomics of Bronze Age Eurasia (2015), Busby et al - A Cautionary Tale of Y Chromosome Lineage R-M269 (2011), Cassidy et al - Neolithic and Bronze Age migration to Ireland and establishment of the insular Atlantic genome (2015), Haak et al - Massive migration from the steppe is a source for Indo-European languages in Europe (2015) and Lazaridis et al - Ancient human genomes suggest three ancestral populations for present-day Europeans (2014). There also seems to be a lot of support for this account on this website and in this forum.