U5b1b1-T16192C!

joechill01

Reaction score
Y-DNA haplogroup
R1b1a2a1a1b*
mtDNA haplogroup
U5b1b1
Well I just got my MTDNA result and its U5b1b1-T16192C!. Does anyone know where it originated and with what group of people they are associated with. Is it the Saamis?

I'm new to MTDNA so what is HVR1 and HVR2?

FTDNA results say that my MTDNA's HVR1, HVR2 and Coding Region under Ancestral Origins as having 2 hits in England. How can I interrupt the result? 2 English people and I have a similar distant ancestor correct?

[h=2][/h]

I have a blog about mtDNA where you can find lots of info about yours and other haplogroups: mtDNA Atlas

The only way to determine if someone has U5b1b1 is to do expensive high coverage mtDNA testing. Such testing hasn't been done on many populations in the world therefore not much is known about the world wide frequency of U5b1b1 or really anything about it. Not much is known about most haplogroups.

The best place to look for info about U5b1b1 is FTDNA's U5 page.

The only concrete info I can give you is your U5b1b1 is ultimately from Mesolithic Europe(west of Russia). The oldest example of U5b1b(not U5b1b1) is from Mesolithic France.
France 8205yo: U5b1b.

There are eight other examples of U5b1 from Mesolithic/Late Paleolithic Germany, France, Luxembourg, and Switzerland.
Germany 14,020 ± 150 BP: U5b1*
Germany 13,430 ± 140 BP: U5b1*
Switzerland 13700yo: U5b1h
France 11820yo: U5b1*
France 10084yo: U5b1*
Germany 8173yo: U5b1d1
Germany 8292yo: U5b1d1
France 7244yo: U5b1a
Luxembourg 8220yo: U5b1a

U5b in it of itself was the primary mtDNA haplogroup of Mesolithic Europe(xRussia and maybe other parts). It could have taken up as much as 80% of European mtDNA. These U5b rich Mesolithic people are known as "WHG". Their Y DNA was mostly I2, with some C1, some R1b1, and maybe other haplogroups. Today most parts of Europe have about 3-6% U5b. WHG ancestry varies a lot by region and is probably about 10-15% in you.