Is father to son communication important in the teen years?

GoldCoinLover

Bad at japanese
Reaction score
I've had depression all my life. It's recently (A few years ago) turned to severe isolation, bitterness and severe anger problems. I don't even eat anymore, shower anymore, or care about how I look.

My dad has a kind of social anxiety disorder. I'm 17. When I was younger, he was much happier (at least to me). I'm guessing this is because I was nicer to him, and because parents are nicer to children than teens (I guess?)

I graduated high school, only to find out the charter school may be closing down due to failing grades. So, in my free time (Which is always. I don't go to college) i constantly read the wikipedia encylopedia, and memorize it. Especially philosphy. How do we know we exist? I also like to look at physics (Not as much), mathematics (not as much as the others), I edit numismatic articles, and look at TONS of psychological and social science articles. I love psychology. I guess I'm just trying to figure out my dad.

He constantly jokes around. I think he may joke around because he is insecure about his self. So he jokes to 'break the ice' so to speak.

He doesn't show any affection. And doesn't like to be corrected. For example, my parents constantly argue about where to drive, what to eat, etc. One noticeable thing: When my dad is driving, my mom freaks out "easilY" as he says because he gets close to another car. When he is wrong, he never admits it. I suppose this is a trait of the psychological male, but it is NOT healthy. Men need to be open, and DEFINITELY it is critical to open the lines of communication in the teenager times; as it is a very insecure and uncertain time for teens. They question themselves, their bodies are going through emotional changes. Girls have mood swings, men have changes in voice, sometimes embarassing.

It's a hard time.