Reaction score
Ethnic group
Celtic/Germanic
Y-DNA haplogroup
I2b1c
mtDNA haplogroup
J
Hi there

Seems to be a lot of knowledgeable people on here i was wondering what people can tell me about my Haplogroup which is I(M170)

my surname is Sorbian in origin which is a slavic minority group from Lusatia in Germany.

Thanks in advance :)

I* (M170) is the Paleolithic lineage from which all subclades of I derive. I* is associated with Cro-Magnon and is very rare nowadays. Have you been tested for all subclades of I ?

I got my result from the National Geographic Geneographic project here is my results im not an expert on this subject so im not sure what to make of it all.

here is a screen shot
budo.png

Last edited:
I got my result from the National Geographic Geneographic project here is my results im not an expert on this subject so im not sure what to make of it all.
here is a screen shot i cant post it as an image as i havent made 10 posts
img715.imageshack.us/img715/2739/budo.png

I saw your results and you almost 100 % belong to haplogroup I2b1. It is haplogroup typical for Lower Saxony, and as you said that your surname is Sorbian by origin, it is understandable that you belong to haplogroup I2b1 becuse the Sorbs lives today in region of Saxony.

Look at map below,this is the position of I2b1 in Europe:
http://yorkyingers.com/dna_files/image002.jpg

And about haplogroup I2b1 from Eupedia:

I2b (formerly I1c) is associated with the pre Celto-Germanic people of North-Western Europe, such as the megaliths builders (5000-1200 BCE). The wide variety of STR markers within I2b could make it as much as 13,000 years old.