Tyco

Reaction score
Ethnic group
Italian/German/ScotsIrish
Y-DNA haplogroup
J1
mtDNA haplogroup
H
Greetings all, I am brand new to ancestral genetic research but find it extremely fascinating. I just received my results form the Genographic Project and was quite surprised. I've always considered myself of European background, my fathers is Italian with family in the Camapnia and Lazio regions of Italy and my mother is German and Scots Irish. My mother's family is from Hanover, Germany. My Genographic results were mtdna - H and Ydna - J1. I was very surprised when I saw that J1 is "Semitic". I assume that mtdna H is not unusual for a female of Western European heritage but now I want to dig deeper into the J1 aspect of my lineage. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I should proceed to dig further and figure out as much as possible about my paternal lineage? I would like to be able to narrow down as much as possible. What and where the J1 comes from, Neolithic migration? Muslim expansion? Phoenician/Carthaginian trade migration? Roman expansion? Etruscan? Jewish? Again, I am a complete neophyte and would appreciate suggestions. Thanks...

Few think that all of J1 is Semitic. Something more narrow like J1c3d probably corresponds better to the Semites. Have you read Maciamo's J1 page? What's your J1 subclade?

Great link, thank you. It explains allot but I can see that I have much more to learn. I don't know what my sub clade is yet but I have forwarded my basic Genographic results to FTDNA for further testing, I am hoping for the results in about a month or so. I am hoping to find out approximately when my ancestors arrived in Italy if that is possible. It's very surprising to see that J1 is possibly Arab or Jewish, I'd like to be able to narrow it down. This is what I received from the Genographic project:

J1/M267
DYS393:12 DYS439:11 DYS388:17 DYS385a:14
DYS19:14 DYS389-1:14 DYS390:23 DYS385b:17
DYS391:10 DYS389-2:Nan DYS426:11 DYS392:11