Mtdna H

fdelangre

Reaction score
I ordered a basic Mtdna test on FTDNA.

My haplogroup is H - HRV1 : 16519C

What does it mean ?

Should I order a full Mtdna sequence to know my subclade ?

Thanks for your help, I'm a newbie.

Fabrice Delangre

I ordered a basic Mtdna test on FTDNA.

My haplogroup is H - HRV1 : 16519C

What does it mean ?

Should I order a full Mtdna sequence to know my subclade ?

Thanks for your help, I'm a newbie.

Fabrice Delangre

you are H2a21 ............which is what I was until yesterday when FTDNA re-ran my mtdna due to a glitch. I am now H2a2a

*Markers found (shown as differences to rCRS):*

*HVR2:* 263G (315.1C)
*CR:*
*HVR1:* (16519C)

*Best mtDNA Haplogroup Matches:*

*1) H2a2a*

*Defining Markers for haplogroup H2a2a:*
*HVR2: 263G
CR:
HVR1: *

*Marker path from rCRS to haplogroup H2a2a (plus extra markers):
H2a2a1(rCRS) ⇨ 263G ⇨ H2a2a ⇨ (315.1C) (16519C)*

*Perfect Match!* Your results are an exact match to this haplogroup.
*Matches(1): 263G*
*Extras(0): (315.1C) (16519C)

50% of matches are in Austria and Czech areas, 5% Swedish, 20% German (Rhine areas), and the remainder British isles.........only a few in italy but the best match comes from nemours in central france

After having issues with my mtdna for a long time, on if I was in the H2 branch or not, Ftdna did my test again which started in November 2012 and completed in March 2013. I have now been removed from H2 branch as my markers indicate I cannot be H2. Latest is that I am H1n4 in which I have 14 matches..all from Finland.
My question is , I heard something about Finland being a bottleneck area, if this terminology is correct what does this mean?

A genetic bottleneck is when very few members all of this same lineage arrive somewhere, reproduce and create many many individuals with this lineage from this initial small group.

why does Sorensen site place H mtDna as beginning in Arkhangelsk area and not Kazakhstan area?