Romanians-descendants of Dacians?

I am not an expert at all. I have seen Romanians who were dark haired Italian looking and I have seen blond-haired Russian looking (broad face) Romanians. Being ignorant I always brought up about Count Dracula which amazingly they good humouredly discussed. Talk would centre about castles and so on.

The history of East Europe is mind boggling. So much happened that are not recorded. Generally I think there was a westward migration by the steppe people as Siberia is very harsh and the warmer European climate was a draw. The Turks probably expanded into vacated land so it appears they increased their territories but I don't see any evidence of warfare. They were mainly Indo-Europeans. So the Massagaetes ended up near the Black Sea as they moved westward from the Caspian Sea. That is what I think. Can't prove anything.

Last edited:
I was reading up on the Sea Peoples. It was a world war in slow motion and could explain some of the population distribution in Europe and Middle East.

http://www.salimbeti.com/micenei/sea.htm

http://www.saudiaramcoworld.com/issue/199503/who.were.the.sea.people..htm

This site proposes a slow motion 'world war' of sorts in the Mediterranean between the Hatti Kingdom with its allies and the confederation of western Anatolian countries. The Mycenaean Greeks also play a part.

http://www.minoanatlantis.com/Origin_Sea_Peoples.php

This one proposes a war between Minoan colonists in Spain versus the Bell Beakers and the Santorini Volcanic explosion. Very interesting.

On autosomal tests,average romanian have about 20%-25% western european admixture,20%-25% balto-uralic (eastern european admixture,on this site),20%-25% med admixture and rest west asian (caucasian) admixture.
Lol,for sure romanians are not descendants of only one population,they seem mixed from all kind of european populations.