Connecting the dots; DNA match prediction and genelaogy

Idunn

Reaction score
I am quite new to DNA-testing, but no beginner in genealogy. So far the match predictions from ftdna have been a bit off compared to the actual connections. All my matches are in the distant cousin bracket.

Here are some examples:

Relation A
Shared total: 55,01 cM
Longest segment: 27, 32 cM
Number of segments: 13
Predicted 3rd cousin -> Actually 6th cousin
_____
Relation B
Shared total: 46,03 cM
Longest segment: 18,49 cM
Number of segments: 12
Predicted 3rd cousin -> Actually 5th cousin
_____
Relation C
Shared total: 55,07 cM
Longest segment 15,08 cM
Number of segments: 21
Predicted 4th cousin -> Actually 6th cousin
__
Relation D
Shared total: 33,94 cM
Longest segment: 7, 72 cM
Predicted: Remote -> Actually 9C1R
____
My absolute closest match is:

Relation X:
Predicted 3rd cousin
Shared total: 61,01 cM
Longest segment: 29, 16 cM

Both the person behind the matching DNA and I are experienced genealogists, and we can not find the common link at all! Should such a result not consitute a very likely relation of at least 6th cousin? :unsure: Is it possible to get a match like this and not be related?

Even with 5th cousin one has 32 grand, grand... mothers and fathers. I don't believe you'll find a person who knows them all, even in modern world. 4th cousin requires to know 16 of them, and it is still very tough, not mentioning possibility of bustard kids. Most likely you don't know all connections.

Even with 5th cousin one has 32 grand, grand... mothers and fathers. I don't believe you'll find a person who knows them all, even in modern world. 4th cousin requires to know 16 of them, and it is still very tough, not mentioning possibility of bustard kids. Most likely you don't know all connections.

I think I am fairly knowledgable about the uncertainties of genealogy, it´s the uncertanties of genetics I am less familiar with. :rolleyes: