European Citizens' Initiative

peitho

Reaction score
I am a student from South Germany. We are working on a European Citizen's Initiative for wich we need 7 people from 7 different European countries!
We urge the European Commission for the personal freedom and privacy of citizens to use and to oppose spying programs such as Prism, Tempora and others. The comprehensive and boundless monitoring of international traffic by domestic and foreign intelligence agencies not only violates our interest in privacy but also the essential principles of a liberal democracy.
The individual should develop freely and be able to express his or her opinion without any restrictions, without being exposed to repressive measures.
By storing the data and creating personal profiles, the foundation is laid for such measures.
Also, the comprehensive monitoring itself is a tremendous restriction of personal freedom, as every citizen must now be aware of give an opinion because he doesn’t only communicates it to his opponent, but also to the state. By storage, the fear that long-forgotten and ill-considered statements are used for one’s disadvantage gets presently.

We call for:
- Deletion of the already collected Data.
- general suspicion must be prevented.
-citizens who are being monitored should be informed.
- European companies must be protected against spying.

If you are interested in taking part, please feel free to write me here!

If you are not - what do you think about the latest monitoring scandals? Is it okay for the NSA to read our Emails? Is it okay that our own government doesn't protect us?

Greetings

I am a student from South Germany. We are working on a European Citizen's Initiative for wich we need 7 people from 7 different European countries!