DYS455=9 and a few other questions…

Tom Fowler

Reaction score
Y-DNA haplogroup
R-L2+ (z49-, z367-)
mtDNA haplogroup
H
Sorry about the length. I’m a newbie at this and have a few questions. (Be kind. :))

Earlier this year, I received my Geno 2.0 results (R-L2+), but hadn't taken the time a look at the raw data.
I loaded it to FTDNA (Kit N114738) and then ordered a full genome test. The first 37 markers have been returned – the remainder has been delayed because the first test failed to yield usable results. They’re due in early September.

When I found out that the FTDNA 67 results were delayed, I decided to look into the Geno 2.0 raw data (where I discovered I was Z49- and Z367-). After initially being totally confused and sending a couple of embarrassing emails to two of the admins for the FTDNA U152 project, (again, my apologies if any of them read this…I was totally confused) I finally figured it out. I found some additional matches and potential matches using the 2013 ISOGG SNP Index. I’d appreciate any insight any of you could provide on these results.

The thing that immediately jumped out at me was the DYS455=9 result. There’s only one match at 12, 25 and 37 markers (same surname, 0, 0, 2 respectively – and his email address no longer works). I can’t seem to find any other substantial matches to that value in R1b. (I looked through as many projects as I could.)

My first question is this: Is a DYS455 value of 9 for a R-L2+ (or R1b for that matter) rare or noteworthy? What conclusions, if any, can I draw from it?

Additionally, I’d appreciate any insight any of you could provide on these results:

Matches: CTS7275; CTS8127.2; M37; PF121.2; YSC0000081.2 (private or investigation shown on ISOGG)