Just found out I'm I2b1 / I2a2a

Zentrum

Seeker
Reaction score
Greetings, everyone!
I purchased a kit from 23andme and was told that my paternal haplogroup is I2b1. Attempting to do some research via Google presented me with a Eupedia thread which explained that I2b1 was actually an older name for what is now called I2a2a.
Most of my family is dead or crazy or both, and the family history has turned out to be a lot of hooey. So I'm trying to research as much as I can via DNA. DNA, at least, I know won't lie to me.
My first absolute beginner question is thus:

1. Do I need to do further digging in order to find subclades of I2a2a in order to try to get a better idea of what area of Europe my Dad's line originated in? Or is I2a2a the final word?

Thanks in advance to anyone willing to steer me in the right direction; it's all a bit overwhelming at this point.

The 23andme website allows me to browse my Raw Data and look up individual SNPs. However, using this feature, the SNPs are referenced by a long number preceded by the letters "rs" (for example: rs7892889).
I've used the information on the ISOGG Y-DNA SNP Index (I can't post links here yet) to cross-reference these rs numbers to see which SNPs show up in my 23andme Raw Data.
The interesting thing is that my Raw Data shows SNPs which show up as I2a2a (such as U250 and P223) but ALSO some SNPs which show up as being I2a2b (such as L38 and S155).

2. Does this mean that I am actually I2a2b? Or some mix of the two haplogroups (I2a2a and I2a2b)?