Effect of Neolithic Farmers on modern European population?

Bosnian Boss

Reaction score
Ethnic group
Bosniak, Serb, Croat, Czech, German
Y-DNA haplogroup
I-M423
mtDNA haplogroup
J1C1
Hello, first post virgin here, so here goes with a controversial post!(y)

Let me preface this by admitting I am a layman in terms of understanding population genetics and all my knowledge come from skimming articles, forums, and studies. There has been one piece of contention that has been bothering me for years though ever since I learned of it as a teenager in 2008: separating Europeans into two blocks, Paleolithic hunter-gatherers and Neolithic farmers. Now new studies are showing it was three main groups the Paleos, Farmers, and the IE Yamanaya (sp). So would this mean all European descendants today are the accumulation of these three groups to varying degrees? (i.e. Basques are mostly indigenous, Greeks mostly Neolithic, and Russians Indo-Euro, everyone else in between)
  • Can Europeans still be seen as "one race/population group" with all these different historical tribes? Are we genetically similar enough/cluster together?
  • Does this mean those who have more Neolithic blood are closer to Middle Easterners because they share certain haplogroups?
  • Is there such thing as a white race or is this all a gradient? Are Europeans removed enough from the rest to be their own thing?
  • Are those with mostly Paleolithic DNA more white?

Apologies for all the questions! These have been nagging me and I want to wrap my head around this.:embarassed:

Hello, first post virgin here, so here goes with a controversial post!(y)