Sardinians

Angela

Elite member
Reaction score
Ethnic group
Italian
Genetically, they are supposed to be the closest to the EEF populations. However, there was indeed some admixture, as the presence of U-152 on the island attests. There were also probably some incursions at the coast from populations from the eastern Med and North Africa. Also, there is not a perfect correspondence between genotype and phenotype. Selection, both natural and social, and drift also have their part to play.

I therefore think it's perilous to assume that the Sardinians can be held to be a perfect physical representation of the ancient EEF. More importantly, if you're going to do that, I think it's best to look at the typical or average Sardinian, and particularly those from inland, isolated regions.

I have some experience with them because not only have I been there a few times, but they have migrated to my area and many of their folksingers and dancers perform there.

These are some commonly found looks in Nuoro, arguably one of the most inbred areas of the island.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zi-zOpgrkv8

See also:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-m3V1cwnPY

You also can find phenotypes like these:
240284_3737199344551_1633922923_o.jpg

Redentore%20-%20donna%20costume.JPG

There isn't a look for any ethnic group, there's more like a million features every population has at differnt proportions or some looks only some have. Subtle things instead of hardcore difference in features is what defines differnt ethnic looks. So, it's hard to say how they look. At a quick glance Sardinians don't look West Asian at all. They'd pass as white or Latino in America.

@ Fire Haired

"They'd pass as white or Latino in America"

what does the word "white" aside "latino" in your statement? would not West-Asians be "whites"? (aside they are 'caucasians' in the broad anhtropological sense)