R1a-Z280-YP270 - Algerian Jew - ???

nesspt247

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm new to this site, and I am not an expert in this stuff (that's an understatement!). But I've been presented with somewhat of a mystery concerning my own Y-DNA results. From 23andme I was placed in R1a-Z280-YP270. I was also given the following ethnic distribution from my father's side:

20% - North African/West Asian
15% - Italian
10% - "Broadly European"
5% - Iberian​

The strange thing about this is that my father's family is Algerian Jewish. His father was a rabbi from a line of rabbis going back at least to the 17th century. So both the Slavo-Baltic haplogroup and Italian DNA seem unusual.

Does anyone have any insight based on population genetics/historical facts that could shed light on this mystery?

Hugely appreciated!

-Eli

YP270 is part of the easternmost Balto-Slavic subclade of Z280, Z92. YP270 is, like most subclades of Z92, found mostly in Eastern Europe, but one of its clades, Y13891, has a representative from Sardinia. YP270 originated in 2500 BC and had its most recent common ancestor (MRCA) in 1200 BC. In comparison, my assigned subclade after the update, R1a-YP445, originated in the year 150 and had a MRCA from the year 600, who was most likely born in East Germany. YP270 is too old and far-flung to determine a place of origin, although the area of Belarus or Lithuania would make sense.

Thanks, Joey!

As I mentioned, I am a complete novice. Is there a way to find out the particular downstream clade that I belong to? Or if 23andme stops at YP270 does that mean it ends there? (Again, apologies for the ignorance).

YP270 originated in 2500 BC and had its most recent common ancestor (MRCA) in 1200 BC.

What exactly does the MRCA mean in this context? Does that mean that the YP270 individual living in 1200 BC was an ancestor of all YP270 people living today? Thanks!