Reaction score
Ethnic group
Danish, British, Czech, Campanian, German
Y-DNA haplogroup
R-L51
mtDNA haplogroup
H2a1
Deeper Y-DNA testing

What's up guys, I got a question regarding Y-DNA haplogroups and I'm hoping someone can help. I'm new to this so forgive me for any mistakes.

I've used Family Tree (family finder+37) and 23&me DNA tests, now on FTDNA my Y-DNA is R1b M-269 while 23&me narrowed it R-L51. My uncle (father's brother) is also on 23&me but his Y-DNA was narrowed to R-CTS4065 which is odd since that's part of R1b-DF27 and that seems to be clustered in SW France & NW Iberia and my paternal ancestors are from N England (Yorkshire). My question is what good tests are available for Y-DNA testing. Should I upgrade my FTDNA Y-37 to a Y-67, will that give me more info than 23&me did on my Haplogroup or no? Are LivingDNA and NatGeo any better? Thank you for taking the time to read my post and any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited:
What's up guys, I got a question regarding Y-DNA haplogroups and I'm hoping someone can help. I'm new to this so forgive me for any mistakes.

I've used Family Tree (family finder+37) and 23&me DNA tests, now on FTDNA my Y-DNA is R1b M-269 while 23&me narrowed it R-L51. My uncle (father's brother) is also on 23&me but his Y-DNA was narrowed to R-CTS4065 which is odd since that's part of R1b-DF27 and that seems to be clustered in SW France & NW Iberia and my paternal ancestors are from N England (Yorkshire). My question is what good tests are available for Y-DNA testing. Should I upgrade my FTDNA Y-37 to a Y-67, will that give me more info than 23&me did on my Haplogroup or no? Are LivingDNA and NatGeo any better? Thank you for taking the time to read my post and any advice would be appreciated.