Hello! New to this community! My haplogroup H6 (I'm H6a1a2b1) BIG differnces on AGE!

Jen V

Reaction score
Hi, I'm not a scientist, I don't have a college degree but I'm very interested in ancient human migrations in Europe. I had my mtdna tested: H6a1a2b1. My maternal line comes from central Germany and moved to Iowa, USA. Anyway I believe H6 is VERY old in Asia, H6b I believe. One paper I read said H6 expand in Asia 20,200 years ago BUT H6a expand in Europe 1800 years ago. Also, haplogroup H6a1a remains in Germany were found in the Saxony-Anhalt area with the Corded Ware Culture approx 4400 years ago. Well, the CWC is much older than the expansion rate of 1800 years ago for H6a in Europe. I believe mtDNA H6a began her journey north of the Black Sea in the Pontic-Caspian Steppes. My HVR 1 matches above 2% are:Croatia, Slovakia and Slovenia. I believe these are the ancient ancestral origins of my mtDNA. Those countries are north and west of the steppes so I can imagine a journey from the Pontic-Caspian Steppes to Germany. However, I am very confused by the recent expansion age and don't understand why it's so young in Europe and SO old in Asia. I need some expert advice as I am new to this research (but throughly enjoying it~!) THANKS, Jen V

Welcome to Eupedia Jen V.