Thorr vigi
Reaction score
Ethnic group
European-American, mostly Italian & Sicilian
Y-DNA haplogroup
T1a1a
mtDNA haplogroup
HV4a
I found the http://esquilax.stanford.edu/#pca link in one of the threads here and thought I'd play around with it. I used the HGDP data source and the 1,000, 10,000 and 100,000 SNPS. The picture below is the 100,000 SNPs. Pardon my ignorance, since I'm still learning about this, but what is the Interpretome chart telling me compared to 23andMe?

23andMe shows my Ancestry Composition as (yDNA hg T, mtDNA hg HV4):
European 86.5%
Southern European 81.4%
Italian 70.8%
Balkan 0.2%
Broadly Southern European 10.4%
Northwestern European 1.4%
Broadly Northwestern European 1.4%
Ashkenazi 0.1%
Broadly European 3.6%
Middle Eastern & North African 12.9%
Middle Eastern 10.7%
North African 1.1%
Broadly Middle Eastern & North African 1.2%

The picture opens larger.

chart 1.jpg

Where are your ancestors from in Italy?

You have a lot of Italian ( 70% ) to be North-Italian.............every North-italian I have seen in 23andme has no more than 35% of Italian.

Right? I thought so too. Culturally we're (my family) Italian/Sicilian-American through and through.

My father's family was from Sicily, Collesano in Palermo Province. I found ancestor names (3-4x great-grandparents back to late 1700s) from Caltanissetta and Agrigento, who apparently moved to Collesano.

My mother's family was from Maddaloni in Caserta Province, Campania Region. I don't have anything before my maternal great-grandparents, no paper trail or anything.

The French and Russian indicators seem to be preposterously high. Is it possible that my Italian ancestors trickled down from those regions of Europe (also assuming European Russia)? I did a couple of Gedmatch tests that show (I did others that are pretty close):

Eurogenes K13 Admixture Proportions
North Atlantic 20.52%
Baltic 6.74%
West Med 21.62%
West Asian 12.74%
East Med 30.66%

Eurogenes EUtest V2 K15 Admixture Proportions