Dutch with maternal L1b1a?

Saskia

Reaction score
mtDNA haplogroup
L1B1a
Hello,
Yesterday the rselts from my dna test came in and maternal haplo is L1B1a. I am new to this and very curious what this means. Both my parents (and ancestors) were Dutch and I read that this Haplogroup is mainly prevalent in Africa. Has my dna not 'evolved' somehow or what should I conclude from this?
many thanks for your help in advance, it would be very much appreciated,
Saskia

Hello,
Yesterday the rselts from my dna test came in and maternal haplo is L1B1a. I am new to this and very curious what this means. Both my parents (and ancestors) were Dutch and I read that this Haplogroup is mainly prevalent in Africa. Has my dna not 'evolved' somehow or what should I conclude from this?
Saskia

Hello there Saskia, welcome to Eupedia. Your Mtdna L1B1a is covering a branch of your family that only stems from your Mother's mother's mother's mother's mother's mother's mother's mother's................. side of the family; that being said it might be worth while to do Geneology from that branch of the family to see if you have any ancestoress from Africa. If there are no Ancestress from Africa in your Mtdna side, then it's likely that your Mtdna is a Western European Mesolithic marker. http://www.eupedia.com/europe/origins_haplogroups_europe.shtml#prehistory

Thank you very much for the welcome and the very informative text.
My mothers lineage has been traced back quite far and is all dutch/ western european.
Lovely dog you have!

Thank you very much for the welcome and the very informative text.
My mothers lineage has been traced back quite far and is all dutch/ western european.
Lovely dog you have!

You're most welcome and thank you. Joey is quite the playful puppy :)

Hello,