What to do with different results??

tlaup

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm very new to genealogical research and DNA-testing. Right now, I just don't know what to do. I hope some of you might can get me in the right direction.. :)

Our family story is that my great-great grandfather was from Ethiopia, why we tried to test my mother with a DNA-test from Myheritage to check if this was right. I got the result, but it says that she's 81,9% scandinavian + 18,1% from ireland/scotland.. Nothing african or anything else, which seems weird when my mother doesn't look like the normal scandinavian / irish person.

From my own research I am back in around 1780 and have only found one person who might be from Norway, all others I have found is Danish. It is only my unknown great-great grandfather I have no information about who could have given my mother her dark skin...

I have since I got the result played a bit with Gedmatch to try some other test of the raw data. Until now I have tried MDLP World-22 MDLP World-22, Eurogenes K-12 and K-15.

The results are different and I don't know if I can trust any of it, or why I don't get any bigger percent that is more "african"

MDLP World-22
West-Asian7,35%
North-European-Mesolithic6,50%
South-America_Amerind0,22%
Atlantic_Mediterranenan_Neolithic32,55%
Indo-Iranian1,29%
North-East-European51,73%
South-African0,15%
Melanesian0,06%
Austronesian0,14%
Eurogenes K12
caucasus6,14%
southwest asien0,07%
mediterranean6,97%
volga-ural9,65%
south baltic15,43%
westeren european28,59%
north see33,14%
Eurogenes EUtest V2 K15
north sea37,46%
atlantic24,47%
baltic14,02%
eastern_euro10,57%
west_med6,27%
west_asian5,45%
red_sea1,45%
sub_saharan0,26%
Can you conclude anything from this - or should I do something else, use another test?
My family doesn't know about the result yet, while I have told my mom she gets it at her birthday party in a few weeks, so I still have a bit time to see if I can get a bit wiser about this before..