Cautious Mode Cornwall Related Ancestry

TopLobster

Reaction score
In cautious mode the map of the Cornwall related group includes "South England" but skips over Devon, what is the reason for this? I would assume Devon would be genetically closer to Cornwall than South England is to Cornwall. South England is also included in the South East England related group so it seems that this is an area where the clusters overlap.

Cautious groups.PNG Cautious Cornwall group.jpg Cautious South East England group.jpg

In cautious mode the map of the Cornwall related group includes "South England" but skips over Devon, what is the reason for this? I would assume Devon would be genetically closer to Cornwall than South England is to Cornwall. South England is also included in the South East England related group so it seems that this is an area where the clusters overlap.

View attachment 9683 View attachment 9684 View attachment 9685

That's odd.

I'm not an expert on English genetics, but I do remember something about Devon being slightly different than the rest of southern England, and the closest to northern French genetics. Does that ring a bell with you or am I remembering it wrong?

That's odd.

I'm not an expert on English genetics, but I do remember something about Devon being slightly different than the rest of southern England, and the closest to northern French genetics. Does that ring a bell with you or am I remembering it wrong?

I don't remember reading anything about the similarity to northern French genetics. But from this graphic, it doesn't look much different from Cornwall in terms of similarity to regions of Europe.
British Regions Similarities to European Regions.jpg

Here is the first part of the description LivingDNA gives about the confidence group:

Cornwall-related ancestry