Albanian and Illyrian

Kentel

Reaction score
Ethnic group
Breton
Y-DNA haplogroup
R1b
I know that the subject has been widely debated here, but could someone summarize in a few words, and without the interference of politic considerations, what is the typology of Albanian and its relation with the Illyrian languages ?

No tricky question here, I'm not an expert of this matter.

We don't have any Illyrian texts.

The Greek origin myths associate them with Celts but that theoretically can be a result of later Celtic cultural influences.

The Greek and Roman sources talk about 'Illyrians proper' or 'properly named Illyrians' etc.

From Wikipedia:
(according to) Pomponius Mela (43 AD) the stricto sensu Illyrians lived north of the Taulantii and Enchele on the Adriatic shore;
Pliny the Elder used "properly named Illyrians" (llyrii proprii/proprie dicti for a small people south of Epidaurum, or between Epidaurum (now Cavtat) and Lissus (now Lezhë).

Illyrians proper, as far as I understand, could have inhabited the region from Dubrovnik to North Albania (at least the regions where North and Central Gheg dialects are spoken).
How close their language was to modern languages in the region is something which is impossible to know, imo.

Thank you. That's exactly the kind of clear and concise answer I expected :)

If I understand well, "Illyrian" is rather an ethnic category - as described by the ancient Greeks - than a distinct linguistic group ?

I know that the subject has been widely debated here, but could someone summarize in a few words, and without the interference of politic considerations, what is the typology of Albanian and its relation with the Illyrian languages ?

No tricky question here, I'm not an expert of this matter.

Here is the story: