Alexandra_K

Reaction score
Ethnic group
Epirus, Vlach, Arvanite, Kephalonia, Kea
Y-DNA haplogroup
J1-PF7263 (BY38105)
mtDNA haplogroup
A4a1 (A1a)
Hello, my father tested at 23andme and his y dna haplogroup was found to be J1. He is Greek. I am new in this and I don't have a lot of knowledge on the subject but I was wondering if in this case J1 is ancient/ native or if it could be due to Arab/Turkish or maybe even Avar invasions.

some j1 clade was semitic origin(phoenician settled and established colony around greece).

every j1 was not semitic origin. some j1 clade caucasian anatolid origin.

Hello, my father tested at 23andme and his y dna haplogroup was found to be J1. He is Greek. I am new in this and I don't have a lot of knowledge on the subject but I was wondering if in this case J1 is ancient/ native or if it could be due to Arab/Turkish or maybe even Avar invasions.

J1 can't tell you to much thing. What is your sub haplogroup?

You can have a J1 which is just shown in Iran, so maybe you are grandson of one of the Darius Soilder.

Or If have Crete origin, and your J1 sub group related with Egypt, your ancesters maybe come to Greece in Mehmet Ali Pasha Egypt Period.

If you have common J1 group in Greece, it could be related with Phoenicians

I can extent this list :grin:

Thank you guys! 23andme just gives him J-M267 which I read is synonymous to J1. Is there a way to find out more using the 23andme raw data?

Thank you guys! 23andme just gives him J-M267 which I read is synonymous to J1. Is there a way to find out more using the 23andme raw data?

View attachment 10230

J-M267 is the general name so we have two options.

*You are really pure J-M267 which hasn't evolved since 32000 years

*You need to do deep Y-dna test and learn your current sub-group

View attachment 10231

What is your Paternal history?