BMW

Reaction score
Ethnic group
Irish
Y-DNA haplogroup
T-FT179638/T-Y26649
mtDNA haplogroup
U6a1a
My name is Brian Walsh and I am new to Eupedia.
My Y-DNA haplogroup is T-M70 and I have Walsh 2nd cousins on 23andMe who were determined to be T-CTS3767 so I suspect I am, as well.
My Y-DNA111 from FTDNA shows that I have no matches from Wales and only two matches overall....one with the surname Welsh from Co. Westmeath, Ireland and one with the surname Walsh from Co. Waterford, Ireland. My Walsh family line is from Co. Carlow.
I am awaiting the results from the T-M184 SNP pack to see where that will take me.

Can anybody suggest a possible area of origin or reason for so few matches? Maybe a Non-Paternal Event?

BMW...thought you were German...well, haplogroup T is fairly rare in the British Isles, the famous case of Thomas Jefferson nonwithstanding. And especially in Ireland. My maternal line originates in Co. Waterford; but the connection with the name Walsh is important, because Irish Walsh/Welsh families had their ancestors come over (with the Normans) from Wales. T is slightly more common in Wales (like with the ancestors of Thomas Jefferson), but still rather rare. Probably just one Haplo-T settler came over from Wales to Ireland, and it was you and your cousins' ancestor.

My Y-DNA haplogroup is T-M70 and I have Walsh 2nd cousins on 23andMe who were determined to be T-CTS3767 so I suspect I am, as well.
My Y-DNA111 from FTDNA shows that I have no matches from Wales and only two matches overall....one with the surname Welsh from Co. Westmeath, Ireland and one with the surname Walsh from Co. Waterford, Ireland. My Walsh family line is from Co. Carlow.
I am awaiting the results from the T-M184 SNP pack to see where that will take me.

Can anybody suggest a possible area of origin or reason for so few matches? Maybe a Non-Paternal Event?

I doubt the “Non-Paternal Event”.

You get low matches because y T is more rare, but is also widespread.