Proceeding with Caution: First global guidelines proposed for ancient DNA research

Jovialis

Advisor
Reaction score
Ethnic group
Italian
Y-DNA haplogroup
R-PF7566 (R-Y227216)
mtDNA haplogroup
H6a1b7
Hmmm, I guess we will be needing to read between the lines a little more carefully:

It's our hope that these guidelines will raise the integrity of ancient DNA research around the world by minimizing damage to collections of human remains; ensuring sensitivity to the perspectives of stakeholder groups, especially when these groups are marginalized; and reducing opportunities for the misuse of results. We expect these guidelines will undergo further development as the field continues to evolve.

https://phys.org/news/2021-10-proceeding-caution-global-guidelines-ancient.html

This guy seems pretty woke. Lewontinism seems to be here to stay.

name
Thomas Booth

description

Francis Crick Institute, London, UK

My name is Dr. Tom Booth and I’m a senior research scientist at the Francis Crick Institute in London, in the UK.

I think part of these guidelines that’s particularly important to this part of the world is in disconnecting the link between genetics and ancient DNA and modern ideas of identity and belonging. So a lot of people, particularly with nationalistic political leanings, have tried to take advantage of ancient genetic data that labs like ours generate to construct nationalistic, exclusive narratives of peoples in Europe. So to establish who are the “true” people of Europe. And they use these ideas to try to sort of deny rights to marginalized people and particularly people who are descended from more recent migrations into countries like Britain and other European countries too.