Genetic study The Genetic Legacy of the Roman Imperial Rule in northern Italy

There is a big fat chunk of Classical Greek samples plotting with Mycenaeans in that Sicilian PCA. And the few more South-Eastern ones can easily be dismissed as mercenary outliers as there are twice as many outliers plotting way north of them.

The Roman Empire was the key architect of the Italian ethnogenesis with migrations from Western Asia under their control. It's the writing on the wall and I've been saying it for 2 years. Percentages are arguable.
The Roman assimilation of west Asia starts only at the end of II century BC. Before that, we have six centuries of Greek colonization (without considering bronze age contacts with the mycenean world) in Southern Italy during the Archaic, classical and hellenistic period.

Last edited:
The Roman assimilation of west Asia starts only at the end of II century BC. Before that, we have six centuries of Greek colonization (without considering bronze age contacts with the mycenean world) in Southern Italy during the Archaic, classical and hellenistic period.
Well said. To ihype's point I think there's little doubt west that west Asia had a genetic influence on Italy but the context of arrival of this type of ancestry appears through the Greek context much earlier than Rome's widespread conquests. That's what the data of himera and ischia are telling us at least.

Well said. To ihype's point I think there's little doubt west that west Asia had a genetic influence on Italy but the context of arrival of this type of ancestry appears through the Greek context much earlier than Rome's widespread conquests. That's what the data of himera and ischia are telling us at least.
I believe that too, after all the interaction between Greece and the west anatolian coast was intensively going on since the VIII century B.C., well before the hellenistic age or the roman annexationoof the West Asia province in 133 B.C.