What happened to CHG Ydna in Yamna

pedassa

Reaction score
I am a complete novice, so please excuse this simple question.

I keep reading that Yamna and especially early Yamna is a 50/50 blend of EHG and CHG.

I understand that the CHG component is based upon the genome of two individuals, both male from Georgia, Satsurblia (13.300 years BP) and Kotais Kide (9,700 years BP). Their Y dna is Haplo Group J, J1 (FT34521) and J2 (Y12379) respectively.

I am puzzled therefore when it turns out that this haplogroup is present in only a very small percentage of modern European males.

How can this have happened? R1b via EHG seems to maintained its dominance in the male line throughout thousands of years.

I keep reading that Yamna and especially early Yamna is a 50/50 blend of EHG and CHG.

I understand that the CHG component is based upon the genome of two individuals, both male from Georgia, Satsurblia (13.300 years BP) and Kotais Kide (9,700 years BP). Their Y dna is Haplo Group J, J1 (FT34521) and J2 (Y12379) respectively.

I am puzzled therefore when it turns out that this haplogroup is present in only a very small percentage of modern European males.

Those are their male haplogroups.
Their female haplogroups were K and H. Most likely also U, J and T.

Yamnaya being 50% CHG means that their first admixing outside of haplogroup U5 (and U4 and U2e) was with H,J,T,V,I and K from the (northern) Middle East/Caucasian range.

Those are their male haplogroups.
Their female haplogroups were K and H. Most likely also U, J and T.

Yamnaya being 50% CHG means that their first admixing outside of haplogroup U5 (and U4 and U2e) was with H,J,T,V,I and K from the (northern) Middle East/Caucasian range.

So does that mean that male CHG contributed almost nothing in that first admixture Yamna event?

Maybe I am dim but it sounds like a dominant EHG bunch of males taking CHG brides\concubine