Phenotypes of the Greeks

George Stephanopoulos's father was born in the Ηλια (Elia) area of Peloponnese. The -poulos ending usually signifies Peloponnesian descent and means son of, so Stephanopoulos means son of Stephanos (Stephen). So his name would translate into Stephenson :).

Last edited:
She looks quite different from the "Pontic" Greeks in this video, much more broad faced and less gracile, but then I'm no expert on Greek regional differences.

Pontics do have these broad-faced types, as well, I'd say it's probably half and half, from my experience, because some overlap with South Caucasians from some specific areas (Kars, for example, Rize, and other places). Still, I'd say the most broad-faced types come from Macedonia and Thrace, with their substantial Bulgarian, and even Tatar/Pecheneg (Thrace) influence.

Here's a video of 2 young Eastern Thracian lasses, you can see the one the left, being extremely beautiful, has visible slanting in her eyes, a common trait in some Thrace villages.

George Stephanopoulos's father was born in the Ηλια (Elia) area of Peloponnese. The -poulos ending usually signify Peloponnesian descent and means son of, so Stephanopoulos means son of Stephanos (Stephen). So his name would translate into Stephenson :).

Well, there you go; when I looked up the place it turned up in far eastern Thrace! :) Never trust the internet. Or maybe it's my sense of Greek geography.

Unless this is also wrong, I think I remember he said he was E-V13.

Well, there you go; when I looked up the place it turned up in far eastern Thrace! :) Never trust the internet. Or maybe it's my sense of Greek geography.

Unless this is also wrong, I think I remember he said he was E-V13.

I looked up his father who was a priest in the Archdiocese rolls. George BTW was a classmate of my brother-in law in Pepper Pike, OH.