MosesE

Reaction score
Ethnic group
Colonial American/ Italian
Y-DNA haplogroup
I2a2b-IS2488
mtDNA haplogroup
I2
I am trying to see if anyone knows anything about the occurrence of I2a2b/L38 in Italy. I belong to a subclade IS2488 which is predominately found in the British Isles. My paternal lineage is Italian, as is the surname. I have traced this back 200 years to Campania region. Does anyone have any Insight?

I am interested in any insight to ancient samples of L38 that may have been found in Italy/Sicily.

Hi Moses.
I am an I-L38 group admin at ftdna and yfull.
Which test did you do?
Ftdna or other NGS?

Hi I did 23andme, I plan on doing the Big Y test at some point when I can afford it. I am a member of the group at ftdna and the facebook group. My understanding is I have a isles type sub-clade which is strange for someone of Italian paternal origin.

Any Ideas?

I see that you live in Greece? Is it possible there is a Mediterranean Branch of L-38 that has been largely undetected due to sampling bias? Thanks.

Hi I did 23andme, I plan on doing the Big Y test at some point when I can afford it. I am a member of the group at ftdna and the facebook group. My understanding is I have a isles type sub-clade which is strange for someone of Italian paternal origin.

Not "Isles", but S2599 is Epigravettian refugium.

I2a2/I2a1b = P214 (20,000-16,000 bce)
I2a2a/I2a1b1 (~90%) = M223 (16,000-15,000 bce)
> P222 > CTS616 > FGC15071 > M284 ("Isles" clade)
I2a2b/I2a1b2 (~10%) = S2599 (16,000-14,000 bce)
> S11321 > S2497 > L38 > S2606 > FGC29656 > FGC29569 > S2488

M284 is British Isles Neolithic (pre-Bell Beaker). L38 has been associated with Unetice and Urnfield cultures and may have spread with the Germans to Britain. Your "Italian" paternal lineage could go back to the Normans in southern Italy.

https://www.academia.edu/30611572/I...I2a2b_L38_Getting_Started_with_I2a2b_L38_v1_0

https://www.eupedia.com/genetics/unetice_culture.shtml

Last edited: